Black Hair

September 25, 2009

New York, and the new Chris Rock documentary got me in a hair state of mind. Surprising considering the fact that I don’t have any. And for good reason. Black people do so much ridiculous shit to their hair its UNREASONABLE. I used to get my hair relaxed. All silky smooth coconut oiled down my back. And then one day they left the relaxer in too long…No thats not the reason that I am currently bald, but it sure did wake me up to the fact that FRYING your scalp cannot be a good look. Needless to say I find it ironic that some people wanna call me Uncle(Aunt?) Tomish because I like to play Western Swing and Country while they proclaim their ‘realness’ but then they process the shit out of their hair in an attempt to convert the naps. Fuck that. My Do is Duty Free. And now all the kids think its cool and retro to bring back all the mistakes of black hair past. It wasn’t enough to fade it, gumby it (see return of the mack below for an example) New Edition it etc…but the return of the Man Relaxer should be a NO GO.And yes I have seen it. Fuck that noise. What’s good enough for JB does not mean its Hood For All. Men should not SoftSheen that shit. What’s next a return to the Jerry Curl? Knowing this generation probably. Hell no. Thank God I am married, and not trying to handle my business on the streets of New York right now, because shit is most definitely NOT TRILL.

the culprit

the culprit

what we need to protect ourselves against next

what we need to protect ourselves against next

No one else can rock this and look hard. No One. Not in 2009

No one else can rock this and look hard. No One. Not in 2009

unless your name is Snoop, Dj Quik,Do or Die,Ice T or some other Pimp Affiliate..LEAVE THIS SHIT ALONE

unless your name is Snoop, Dj Quik,Do or Die,Ice T or some other Pimp Affiliate..LEAVE THIS SHIT ALONE

do better. just do better. Eyebrow weaves?

do better. just do better. Eyebrow weaves?

Leave a Reply

