The Best Musical Ever (I think…)

October 6, 2009

Okay. So I use this phrase very hesitantly, because admitting to a love of musicals has been known to get people hurt in the past. However I do come from a theatre background so I can get down with a DOPE musical. I used to think that  Tommy, had this competition on lock. (If you don’t know, you NEED find out. witness Tina Turner as the acid queen below)
but now there is something that may be even crazier finding its way to my very own home as I write this.
Stefan came back from Michigan with a bunch of records that we have been listening through. Among them was the soundtrack to this ‘film’. YES its a Melvin Van Peebles comedy musical! And YES the 12″ sounded so INSANE that we immediately amazon-ed that shit! It’s about an ‘imp and a devil’ that somehow end up at a Harlem house party in the 70’s. (shades of Brother From Another Planet) If that doesn’t sound awesome to you, you need to run a check on your idea of a good time. Details to come upon delivery.

the box that is making its way to my door. The movie was cheaper than the soundtrack. Hmmm...

the box that is making it's way to my door. The movie was cheaper than the soundtrack. Hmmm...

Leave a Reply

