When I die, I hope that I get to go to Pickfair

August 25, 2010

(…atleast there I wouldn’t ever have f-cked up a cupcake recipe like I did tonight. Someone would have made them for me)

Mary Pickford. Douglas Fairbanks. The Original Hollywood Celebrities. Co creators (along with D.W. Griffith and Charlie Chaplin) of United Artists, and inhabitants of Pickfair; the estate that welcomed everyone who was anyone in the early days of the silver screen. In the teens and 20’s the Pickford-Fairbanks pretty much ran sh+t hillside, and their parties and home were pretty much unrivaled. Every once in awhile, I like to reconnect with images of the couples’ exotic and entrepreneurial existance. I could go into a rant about how I think that they are as underrated as Kool Herc in terms of lasting importance (actually, DJ  Kool Herc is way more underrated) regardless… nobody really needs skool right now. What I will do is leave my kitchen painted in unrisen chocolate batter for the night, and lose myself in this recent Douglas Fairbanks find (crazy dark humour about drugs and absurdity from 1916) and images of the ever glowing…Pickfair.

Kool Herc describing how he invented the break fyt…

Leave a Reply

