If you can’t get down with Man Ray, you can’t get down with me

September 22, 2011

…it’s that easy. And I feel like celebrating imagination tonight. While I’m sitting here, waxing strangely nostalgic, i wanted to give a ‘shout out’ of sorts to all of the images and films that have throughout the years formed the basis of my work and inspiration. from the Avant-Garde to Camp and everything in between, they all share, for me share a quality of creative release. I’ve just completed a campaign shoot/film for the designer Una Burke with my team in which we could just start to scratch the edges of surrealism, and now I am revisiting a lot of the following moments in order to take direction for my next project (space suits in Serbia seriously)but in the meantime, here is part 1 of an overview of my 30 years of visual love.

Man Ray’s Emak Bakia. One of my all time favorite films. I constantly come back to this.

the first 8 minutes of Desperate Living is one of the best things that has ever happened to me. this is, unfortunately the only version of it on youtube.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

my mother took me and my cousin Nathan to see this at the movie theatre in Manhattan when I was 5.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

David Lynch’s photography
Leave a Reply

