Couture. It’s A Wrap

January 29, 2010

Fuck calling out the Death of Autotune,  we are facing the Extinction of Couture! I am urging all of you with an imagination and perhaps some stylish form of artillery to take to the streets and protest aloud! I had foolishly awaited the updates from the only fashion week that I continue to care about. When the images arrived, my heart sank and I retreated back to bed. Understatement of my life will admit that this January has been a rough one. But when I can’t even completely depend on Gaulthier HC to deliver me from the desolation blues, I know that my switch to working in film may be imminent.  Elie Saab aside ( I am not from the Upper West Side, and my husband doesnt pass by Ground Zero everyday to get to work.) All in all this weeks showing having been far too…WEARABLE. In short, I wish that most ready to wear looked this fierce. But as for couture?
thanks, but I prefer my midday Plaid wools directly from the turn of the 20th  century.
FOR SHAME! FOR SHAME! GIVENCHY
Looks very tailored, exquisitely fussed over,e tc. But unless I  need the help of 3 indentured servants to carry the hem, IT AIN’T COUTURE.
WHAT IN THE LITTLE MERMAID UNDER THE SEA AZTEC WORLD OF PALM BEACH HELL IS THIS?
Charles  Worth is turning right now. TURNING.
I know that much of the saleability of Couture lies in the ability to perfect the norm…such as a flawless suit, or a discreet buttery lining. But really, not one truly out of this world dress?
Let’s have a moment of zen,  with some back in the day couture.

Leave a comment